The Joint Municipal Physician Recruitment and Retention Committee are welcoming new physicians to the area.

Dr. Daniel and Teresa Ostapowicz will take over the practice of Dr. Alex Atfield, who is moving to a new placement. Chair of the committee, Dr. Jane Dumas, says that this was a long time coming and that both doctors have already been working in townships across the region. In addition, Dr. Erin Murray will begin practice with the Madawaska Valley Family Health Team after she completes her medical exams in mid-2021. She is currently completing her placement at the University of Ottawa.

Dr. Dumas says that the committee is thrilled that these doctors have decided to practice in the area. She says they had contact with the Ostapowicz’s through the year, and have been sponsoring them to come to the area. She says they know the healthcare system, grew up in the area, and know the region well. She says this is an ideal situation, as the need for a primary care physician in Renfrew County is at a critical point.

Dr. Dumas would also like to thank the municipalities for their help with drawing physicians to the area. The Joint Committee is comprised of representatives from Killaloe-Hagarty-Richards, Madawaska Valley, North Algona-Wilberforce, Brudenelle-Lyndoch-Raglan, and South Algonquin, as well as as the Madawaska Valley Family Health Organization, the Valley Manor Long Term Care Home and St. Francis Memorial Hospital.