A new round of Safe Restart funding has come to townships across the region.

The Ontario Government announced it is releasing $695 million to municipalities across the province. Minister of municipal affairs Steve Clark said the joint funding will help Ontario’s municipalities and make sure they are not operating deficits going into 2021. MPP John Yakabuski says the announcement will help municipalities move forward with capital projects and move on from COVID-19.

Each region will receive:

Township of Bonnechere Valley – $230,000
Township of Brudenell, Lyndoch and Raglan – $18,000
Township of Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards – $22,000
Township of Madawaska Valley – $39,000
City of Pembroke – $159,000
County of Renfrew – $557,000
Township of South Algonquin – $37,000

The Safe Restart Fund is a joint venture between the provincial and federal governments and has so far distributed $4 billion to help municipalities weather the economic impacts of COVID-19