Pembroke and Renfrew will get a transit funding increase.

John Yakabuski, MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke says 107 municipalities will be able to use a two cents per litre gas tax towards transit.

He says this continues to provide funding for transit and releases that burden on certain municipalities.

The Barry’s Bay native adds that in total, the Province is shedding $364 million in gas tax funding excluding Toronto. Two municipalities in his riding are included in this group. Renfrew will receive $250 000 and Pembroke will get $107 000.

For more information and to read the statement released by the Province, click here.